logo home  
spacer855.542.7267 (Toll Free)
Levels of Care

There are four levels of hospice care, that is covered by Medicare, Medicaid and most insurance plans. They allow the hospice program to keep the patient in the setting that best meets the needs of the patient. Some or all of these levels of care may be utilized during a patient's hospice care.

  • Routine Care : Physicians, registered nurses and other members of our professional team are on-call around the clock to assist with providing palliative care in the patient's home.
  • General Inpatient Care : When acute pain and chronic symptoms require more than routine care, the patient is moved to our home-like setting. This short-term benefit assists to comfort the patient and family with changes in medical treatment before being released back to their home.
  • Inpatient Respite Care : This service is often used to provide a break so that caregivers can participate in other family activities, such as holiday celebrations, or just to relieve a tired caregiver for a few days. We will take care of the patient in our home-like setting for up to five days.
  • Continuous Care : when pain or symptoms reach a crisis, patients receive treatment for a brief period; medical staff is on hand to help manage these symptoms until they are controlled
The hospice or the attending physician determines what levels of care are needed, and all types of care must be approved by the hospice before the patient may use them. Not all patients use or need all levels of care, yet all are available if they are needed
The Voice

"The gift of hospice is its capacity to help families see how much can be shared at the end of life. It is no wonder that many families can look back upon their hospice experience with gratitude."

Naomi Naierman, CEO AHF

Harbor Hospice Commercial
Copyright - Harbor Hospice - 2005 All Rights Reserved   Managed by Harbor Healthcare System